Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Driving in bay area drives me crazy!

Here I was listening to Miley's song, 'Party in the USA' and driving in a two lane road/freeway (As if people in bay area follow speed limits to categorize roads as freeway, two lane, three lane or whatever) on a Friday night at the speed of 50 mph when I suddenly  reduce my speed to accommodate two slow moving cars in either lanes right in front of me. Believe it or not these cars were driving at 40 mph! I wanted to yell at the driver driving on the left lane,"Hey, moron if you want to drive slow then move to the right lane. Why are you parallel driving with someone just like you?" Yeah right! As if I call some one moron the person will humbly accept that he/she is a moron and pay attention to what I have to say. Worst part I could not even honk. To combat the problem I tailgated the slow moving car on the left lane. Result the car in the front did not budge. Now this is what I call as the 'worst-fate' scenarios. I mean what else could it possibly be? Sometimes there is hope for instance if the guy, fortunately I must say, turns right from the right lane then I can manage to zoom my way to glory. 
However this does not happen all the time. There are times when I am  stuck in similar scenario and neither car turns any where. What do I do then? I tailgate just as much as I can, curse  them under my breath and finally give up. 
People driving slow are unique species of their own kind. Freeway or pricy way it does not matter to them. Their motto is drive slow and annoy every one else, who cares! Then there are those who suddenly move to the next lane without switching the indicator on. And some who wait all the time in the left signal and on green go straight. How weird is that! How do such irresponsible or say dumb drivers get their driving license? A mystery I have never been able to solve. 
On Friday night when I faced slow drivers driving at 40 mph in a 50 mph zone I just could not take it. I decided to protest by non stop tailgating each one of them. My logic was at least one of them will get scared. Turns out none of them was even aware that I existed. Well I gave up. I compromised thinking this could be worse if I were in India. Worse or better? Let's see people in India honk all the time no matter what. And it's good because they send the message right across and people LEAVE WAY! Hello I know safety is important but not driving right is equally dangerous. I mean I could get annoyed and bump straight into the slow moving car!
When I was in Austin, Texas, people would cut into your way but make it sure to raise hand to thank as well as apologize for the unacceptable behavior. In bay area there is no concept of raising hands. Here people raise hands only to show their middle finger. Well for the first few days I felt bad but turns out now I do the same. In fact my middle finger has an artificially intelligent mind of its own. I guess its like what the Romans say,"When in bay area be like a bay arean." Yes, I created the word arean don't freak out. I am sure someday it will make it to the dictionary the way other senseless words do. 
Now on Friday gave up I did but then an unusual thing happened. The slow moving car wanted to change lanes to the right. Apparently with me tailgating and the car in the right lane moving equally slow the driver was stuck and missed the turn. Man! my happiness knew no bounds. For once the driver who drove me nuts had faced frustration. As a result the driver had no choice but to drive faster from then on. He/She had experienced my pain. 
I hope all  drivers who make driving hard for others learn similar lessons the hard way and thereafter drive better in order to make driving in bay area a pleasant experience and not a tedious frustrating chore.

No comments:

Post a Comment